Moldova & the Schengen Area

Can a Moldova national live in the Schengen Area?

Dr. Antoine Saliba Haig | Published on 27 Nov 2018 | Updated on 28 Nov 2018

Moldova  the Schengen Area

Citizens of Moldova are able to visit over 120 countries without applying for a visa and this includes all the 26 countries in the Schengen Area.

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area is an area made up of 26 European countries who have decided to ablish internal border controls whilst stregnthening exteriar borders. This Area covers most of the EU countries except from UK, Ireland, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatie and Cyprus. Countries in this area also included non European Union countries such as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichentstein. Thus the 26 countries include Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The area is known as Schengen due to the fact that the Schengen Agreement was signed near a small town in Luxembourg called Schengen.

Is Moldova Part of the Schengen Area?

Although Moldova is not part of the Schengen Area and not a signatory to the Schengen Agreement, since the 28th of April 2014, citizens of Moldova can travel to the Schengen Area without the need of a visa. For Moldova citizens to be able to travel to the Schengen countries without a visa, it is important that they hold a Moldovan biometric passport. This means that Moldova has become the first country from the EU's Eastern Partnership whose nationals are exempt from a visa requirement to enter Schengen. 

Can a Moldova national live in the Schengen Area?

A citizen of Moldova may stay in the Schengen Area for a period of up to 90 days in a six month period. Thus a Moldovan national can enter the Schengen Area with his passport and travel freely within all the 26 countries for three months within a six month period. 

The Moldova Citizenship Programme

The Moldova Citizenship Programme launched in 2018 enables individuals to acquire Moldova citizenship in exchange of a contribution to the Moldova Public Investment Fund. Applicants can thus enjoy visa free travel to the Schengen Area by applying for the Moldova Citizenship Programme which will grant applicants citizenship within a period of three months. Applicants interested in this programme are required to pay a non refundable donation to the Public Investment Fund of :

  • €100,000 for a Single Applicant
  • €115,00 for a Main Applicant and his/her spouse
  • €145,000 for a Family of Four
  • €155,000 for a Family of Five or more.

Request More Information
Please send me legal and other updates

Key Contacts

Dr Jean-Philippe Chetcuti

Senior Partner, Global Residency & Citizenship

+356 22056411

Dr Antoine Saliba Haig

Legal Associate

+356 22056446

Related Practice Groups